“Smile”

Taking picture of kids can be tough, they fidget, cry, don’t look into the lens…. etc… When you are out to get a perfect picture this can be really annoying.

I had a thought recently that usually my favorite pictures of myself are those that are not the result of being prompted to smile but rather those that come from organic moments.  The same goes for my style of wedding photography.  I connect well with brides that want me to document their day in an organic way, as the naturally joyful occasion that it is.

As far as shooting photos of my adorable 2 year old.  There is so much that I want to document:  her beautifully fine golden curls that will surely grow out with time, her fun and exciting outlook on life, and her crazy imagination.  How do I capture all of that in one image if I am constantly prompting her to smile for the camera?  This week I challenged myself not to prompt her to “Smile” every time that I took her photo. This was the result:

We were out splashing in puddles and playing.  At one point I said “Lina make a wish”.Spring Showers_Naty_Lina-97“Lina show me your surprised face!”Spring Showers_Naty_Lina-100

These are priceless to me.  I plan to frame them side by side.

Leave a comment